top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWords For Change

Nani - A poetry collection by Tanvi Jeph

Photo

He looked at her again and again

Filled with tears and despair

Yet his eyes glimmered with love


He was scared that a tear might fall

He looked down, holding them back

Caressing her through the picture


A crinkled, dry photo in his hands

It was black and white

Still it seemed colourful


It was a photo of two people

Looking at each other

Holding books in their hands


They seemed young but lovers

Wearing sunglasses

Smiling at each other


The lady whom he secretly admired

And a man she truly loved

They were real love birds


Spent fifty-two years together

But one bird flew away, to heaven,

While other still sits alone, waiting


Nani

She had Dyed black hair mixed with some white hair

A red bindi on her forehead placed symmetrically

She used to drape a sari with a lot of patterns on it

She was my nani, my grandmother, my friend


My nani used to make the best achaar that I ever had

My palate still has that tangy flavour of her achaar

Afterall it was mixed with love and selflessness of hers

I have bitter-sweet memories of her, mostly sweet


We both used to dance to old retro hindi songs

She was always ready to do an impromptu for me

Nani used to tell me ghost stories of her village

Some of them sounded fake but she said they weren’t


Nani left me sooner than anticipated

She might be in heaven taking care of the angels

But she had left a lot of memories for me to cherish

Her bindi, achaar, saari and her laughter


Still Has

Home is not the same without you, but I still can’t call it a house

Because, the walls are still scented with you

The stairs are painted with the mark of your footsteps

The glass is stained with your Bindi gum marks

The cupboards smell the same way your sarees did

The room is filled with the echo of your laughter

The bedroom still has the smell of your medicines

The kitchen still has the aroma of your achaar

Nothing of yours left us, but you did grandma

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Relationship by Mozid Mahmud

Kuddus was the first to see the girl. He had gone out near the river bank to relieve himself. The winter had not set yet, but the river was beginning to feel its pull. There was a little fog, one coul

We Paddled Across The Sun - Tom Lagasse

As Life and Nature are not great with reference to the Present only, But greater still from what is yet to come, Out of that formula for Thee I sing Walt Whitman, One Song, America, Before I Go All pa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page